Country in the Door: Lee Ann Womack comes to the DCA this Sunday

Country music often gets a bad rap. People think the music’s all full of twang and the Lyrics are too superficial: all about big trucks, tippin’ back some beers and talking big and bigger game about ladies and love. Progressive country vocalist Lee Ann Womack, who will comes to the Door Community Auditorium this Sunday, August 14, is an obvious exception to the rule.

Her music’s got flair and a lot of style, and there’s no disputing her incredible vocal talent. She makes country music, no doubt, but her songs consistently blur the lines and cross genres, appearing on every kind of radio station.

In Womack’s hit, “You’ve Got to Talk to Me,” off of her debut album, Lee Ann Womack, in 1997, she sings about the familiar trials and tribulations of men and woman trying to communicate with one another and falling short:

How will I ever know what you’re feelin’
How will I ever know what to do
If you simply refuse to tell me
What’s goin’ on inside of you
Have a little faith in me
Baby can’t you see
You’ve got to talk to me

How can I even know how to help you
How can I ever know what to say
If every time your heart is hurtin’
You turn from me and walk away
Have a little faith in me
Baby can’t you see
You’ve got to talk to me

Her chart-topping “I Hope You Dance,” the title track of the 2000 album, I Hope You Dance, was all over the radio, and her duet partners ranged from Willie Nelson to Harry Connick, Alan Jackson to the Blind Boys of Alabama, Buddy Miller to George Strait.

Born and raised in Jacksonville, Texas, she was introduced to music at an early age. Her father was a disc jockey for a local radio station and would take Womack to the station in the evenings. You can hear this true, blue Texan’s roots in songs like, “The Fool,” also off her album, Lee Ann Womack:

I know love is a fragile thing
And I’m trying hard to make it last
But it ain’t easy holding on to my dream
When he’s holding on to the past

Just one more thing before I go
I’m not here to put you down
You don’t love him and that’s a fact
Girl I’ve seen you around
But you hold his heart in the palm of your hand
And it’s breaking mine in two
‘Cause I’m the fool in love with the fool
Who’s still in love with you

I’m the fool in love with the fool
Who’s still in love with you

A song that brings out a popular theme in Womack’s music: love, and the trials of the heart.

Womack has released a total of six studio albums and two compilations, she has received five Academy of Country Music Awards, five Country Music Association Awards (including Female Vocalist of the Year), and a Grammy Award.

She’s topped the Billboard charts with hits like “I’ll Think of a Reason Later” from her 1998 album, Some Things I Know, and “I May Hate Myself in the Morning,” off of her 2005 album, There’s More Where That Came From. No doubt she’ll bring her southern charm and beautiful voice to the DCA’s audience on Sunday.

~ by bjordt on August 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
